Tree Oscars Return in 2021

sfwa logo

Scotland’s ‘Tree Oscars’ will return in 2021 to reward the passionate people who create and manage the country’s finest forests and woodlands

The coronavirus pandemic sadly led to the cancellation of Scotland’s Finest Woods Awards for 2020, but the programme will resume in 2021 – subject to all health and safety protocols being followed.

“We are very keen to press ahead with the Awards and have had a very enthusiastic response to our plans from everyone involved with the programme,” said Angela Douglas, Executive Director of Scotland’s Finest Woods, which arranges the annual Awards.

“We will ensure the Awards go ahead in a way that guarantees the quality of our winners – and protects the safety of our respected judges and all those who enter. Keeping people safe will be a top priority.”

Scotland’s Finest Woods Awards 2021 will be formally launched in January. All entries received for the 2020 programme are to be carried forward for 2021, with the opportunity for entries to be updated.

New entrants will also be welcomed for all categories: Community Woodlands (large and small); Farm Woodland (an open award and one for those aged 40 or under); New Native Woods; and Quality Timber (three awards for newly-planted commercial woods, a single stand, compartment or small wood and an award for whole estates or multi-purpose forests).

The ever-popular Schools Award also returns, while Awards Trustees are also considering an exciting and highly topical new award for 2021.

Guy Watt has taken on the role of Chair of the Board of Charity Trustees of Scotland’s Finest Woods succeeding Chris Inglis, who has been involved in the programme for more than 20 years.

Angela Douglas said: “We are all hugely indebted to Chris Inglis for his exceptional contribution. His deep knowledge, passion, warmth and good humour have been vital in helping the Awards thrive over many years.

“We are also grateful to have someone of Guy Watt’s calibre to step up into the role of Chair. Alongside our new Trustees, Peter Whitfield, Richard Howe and Malcolm Young, and our longer-serving Trustees Sir Patrick Hunter Blair and Wilma Harper, we have a strong and experienced Board for the 2021 programme.” [Angela Douglas is also a Trustee].