Excellence in Forestry 2020 – from Wales to Northern Ireland

The Royal Forestry Society’s Excellence in Forestry Awards 2020 will be reaching across the Irish Sea for the first time as they seek to identify the very best in woodland management in Northern Ireland, the Isle of Man and Wales.

Urging owners and managers of woods of all sizes and those running woodland education and learning projects to take part, Excellence in Forestry Awards co-ordinator Rachel Thomas says: ‘At a time when we hear a lot about the need to plant new trees to combat climate change, it is equally important that we manage our existing woods to optimise their benefits for climate change, rural economies and health and wellbeing.

‘We know there are many fine woods and forests in Wales, Northern Ireland and the Isle of Man and we want to be able to shout about them. These awards will throw a spotlight on those who are achieving the very best, helping to share and promote best practice.’

There are five categories:

  • The Duke of Cornwall’s Award for Resilient Multipurpose Forestry
  • Silviculture Award for plantings than are less than 30 years old
  • Small and Farm Woodland
  • Community Woodland
  • Education and Learning Award

Deadline for entries is Tuesday 3 March 2020, judging will be held in May with an awards event in July. Full details are available here.

Sponsors include Forestry Journal, FSC, PEFC, Tilhill Forestry, TreesPlease, Savills and Woodland Trust